The village of Liptovský Michal is located in the western part of the Liptovská kotlina (basin), in the valley of the river Váh, 13 km east of the town of Ružomberok. The village has a rich history. A Neolithic settlement with cannel ceramics was found inside the village bounds, as well as a Bronze Age culture settlement and a Slavic settlement from the period of Great Moravia.

The first record of the village dates back to 1331. It was founded in the first half of the 13th century in the area of Ľupča, before the arrival of German colonists to Ľupča. Since 17th century, famous paper mill and an iron mill worked here. In 1900, only 117 inhabitants lived in the village. They were farmers.

There is a Gothic-style Roman Catholic Church of St. Michael in the village, which was recorded in the second half of the 13th century, and a wooden bell tower which is a monument of folk architecture of the 17th century.